Western Balkan nations agree to abolish roaming charges

5 Apr 2019

Representatives of six countries in the Western Balkans – Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia – have inked an agreement under which they will gradually remove all roaming costs in the region. According to BalkanInsight, following the signing of the deal in Belgrade yesterday (4 April) the aforementioned countries say they will all work to harmonise pricing for mobile voice calls, SMS messages and data. The report cites Kosovo Minister for Economic Development Valdrin Lluka as saying that the pact will come into effect from 1 July, at which time, calls for those roaming costing EUR0.190 (USD0.213) per minute from that date, while SMS messages will cost EUR0.060 per message and 1MB of data will be charged at EUR0.025. Looking ahead, it is understood that from 1 July 2021 roaming charges will be abolished altogether under the ‘Roam like at Home’ concept.

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia



Have feedback, corrections, or story ideas? Send them to editors@commsupdate.com.

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.