BTRC to award four 4G licences on 19 February

14 Feb 2018

The Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (BTRC) will award 4G licences to GrameenPhone, Robi Axiata, Banglalink and Teletalk on 19 February, The Daily Star writes. While the licence awarding ceremony was initially scheduled for 20 February at the Dhaka Club, it has been rescheduled on security grounds, BTRC’s chairman Shahjahan Mahmood said.

As previously reported by TeleGeography’s CommsUpdate, in late January 2018 the BTRC declared all five applicants eligible for 4G licences, following the evaluation of their respective bids for LTE concessions and spectrum. Earlier this month, the BTRC received five applications for 4G licences, while all four privately-owned operators – GrameenPhone, Robi Axiata, Banglalink and defunct Citycell – expressed their intentions to participate in the spectrum auction scheduled for 13 February; state-run Teletalk, meanwhile, opted to skip the frequency tender and use its current frequencies for 4G services. In the event, Banglalink was awarded 2×5.6MHz in the 1800MHz band and 5MHz of paired spectrum in the 2100MHz band, though details of what frequencies were secured by the other participants remain unclear.



Have feedback, corrections, or story ideas? Send them to

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.