No more roaming charges for five West African states

2 Dec 2016

From 31 March 2017 roaming charges will no longer apply between the West African nations of Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali and Senegal, reports Senegalese paper Le Soleil. Regulators of the five states met on 28 November in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, and signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) for the implementation of free roaming effective from the end of March next year.

The idea of ‘free roaming’ is part of a wider plan to create a more united African continent as promoted by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). The action in West Africa follows the ‘One Network Area’ scheme involving a number of East African nations such as Kenya, Rwanda and South Sudan, which was first implemented in October 2014.

Burkina Faso, Guinea, Mali, Senegal, Cote d’Ivoire,



Have feedback, corrections, or story ideas? Send them to

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.