Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan to adopt cross-border call rates from Jan-15

10 Jul 2014

Mobile subscribers in Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda and South Sudan are set to enjoy cross-border calls at the same rates under the planned ‘One-Network-Area’ scheme. According to a report by The East African, regulators from the four countries have announced plans to adopt a regional telecoms framework, which will take effect from 1 January 2015. The scheme will only apply to calls originating and terminating within the region; once the system is implemented, subscribers will not be charged for roaming within the member states and instead be billed as local users.

Tanzania, also a member of the East African Community (EAC), has been excluded from the framework, which is designed to dovetail with the ongoing efforts to promote integration among the aforementioned countries under the Northern Corridor infrastructure plan.

Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, South Sudan,


Subscribe to CommsUpdate to get the day’s top telecom headlines delivered to your email.

Subscribe to CommsUpdate


Have feedback, corrections, or story ideas? Send them to

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.