H block bidder list unveiled by FCC; major players conspicuous by their absence

20 Jan 2014

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has confirmed that a total of 23 bidders are pre-qualified to participate in this week’s auction of 1900MHz H block spectrum. The companies are listed as follows:

• American H Block Wireless

• Atlantic Seawinds Communications

CTM Spectrum

• Davey Holdings

• Explore Ventures

FTC Management Group

• David M Gates

• Holland Wireless

• James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company

• Lynch 3G Communications Corporation

• James E McCotter

• Michigan Wireless

• NE Colorado Cellular

NTELOS Licenses

PCS Partners

• Thomas E Persons

• Piedmont Rural Telephone Cooperative

• Puerto Rico Telephone Company

• Scott D Reiter

• Spotlight Media Corp

• Syringa Wireless

• TeleGuam Holdings

• VTel Wireless.

According to TeleGeography’s GlobalComms Database, the auction represents the regulator’s first major spectrum sale since 2008. The bidding process, which is designated as ‘Auction 96’, will comprise frequencies in the 1915MHz-1920MHz (Lower H block) and 1995MHz-2000MHz (Upper H block) bands. The spectrum will be auctioned in 176 individual Economic Areas across the country.



Have feedback, corrections, or story ideas? Send them to editors@commsupdate.com.

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.