Telecom regulators from six east European nations form new association

13 Sep 2012

On 11 September the presidents of telecoms regulatory authorities in six eastern European countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, the members of the cooperative within the Eastern Partnership [EaP]) met to sign a memorandum of understanding (MoU) establishing a new association – the Network of EaP Electronic Communications Regulators. Telecompaper writes that in signing the MoU the new members also discussed regulatory proposals for the associations work plan for next year, which will hopefully be approved and adopted when they next meet in Kiev at end-January 2013. The stated objectives of the EaP Regulators Network are to increase cooperation between EaP and EU regulators, and to coordinate regulatory principles between member states in order to ‘improve the efficiency and predictability of their regulatory activity’.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova,


Subscribe to CommsUpdate to get the day’s top telecom headlines delivered to your email.

Subscribe to CommsUpdate

Browse Past Issues


Filter CommsUpdate by the following categories or use the search.


Visit our help page information on performing advanced searches, including how to restrict the results by country or company.


CommsUpdate is an outstanding advertising venue for companies seeking to reach:

  • International carriers
  • Wholesale service providers
  • Equipment and software vendors
  • Telecom investors
  • Regulators

Learn more about advertising on CommsUpdate.